Detective Unit

The Detective Division is responsible for conducting follow-up investigations from the patrol force, in addition to self-initiated investigations.

Currently, the Detective Unit is made up of a Detective Sergeant, and five Detectives. The unit's investigations include, but are not limited to:

  • Sexual assaults
  • Breaking and entering
  • White-collar internet crimes
  • Robberies
  • Arsons
  • Unattended deaths and suicides

The Detective Unit also responds to citizen-initiated complaints relative to drug activity. They have ongoing surveillance relative to areas of drug activity. The unit encourages residents to call Police Headquarters to report any suspicious activity they may observe in their neighborhoods.

The Detective Unit is on call 24 hours a day and provides assistance to, and often works with, the Massachusetts State Police Detective Unit attached to the District Attorney's office, the DEA, FBI, and other agencies throughout New England.